Liars, Inc. (Review)

Liars, Inc. (Review)
Hi there!

Title: Liars, Inc.

Author:  Paula
Stokes
Publisher:  Harper
Published Date: 24th March 2015
Rating: 4 stars
 
*Thank you to the publisher for the review copy*
Synopsis: A dark and twisted psychological tale
that will keep readers guessing, perfect for fans of I Hunt Killers and Gone Girl.
Max Cantrell has never been a
big fan of the truth, so when the opportunity arises to sell forged permission
slips and cover stories to his classmates, it sounds like a good way to make a
little money. So with the help of his friend Preston and his girlfriend,
Parvati, Max starts Liars, Inc. Suddenly everybody needs something, and the
cash starts pouring in. Who knew lying could be so lucrative?
When Preston wants his own
cover story to go visit a girl he met online, Max doesn’t think twice about it.
But then Preston never comes home. And the evidence starts to pile
up—terrifying clues that lead to Preston’s body.
Terrifying clues that point to
Max as the killer…
Review: Now
where do I start with this book? I am not sure if anything I say will really
give it the justice it needs. I absolutely loved this one, and I had been
looking forward to it since last year when I fell in love with the cover. I can
now assure you there is more than just a cover to this book as well.
Liars, Inc. is a business of setting up lies for other
people. Need a permission slip signed that your parents refused to? Done. Need
someone to call in sick for you? Done. Need to swap test papers? Done. I like
how Liars, Inc. sort of started unintentionally, but then as soon as Parvati
and Preston hooked onto that accident they made a business out of it. It was
also interesting how a lot of these things the students could’ve done themselves
if they had tried hard enough… but they chose not to.
But there was more to this book than simply that! The
mystery that unfolds is when Max is being pegged as a murderer. He makes some
pretty silly decisions when he is accused, and does a lot of suspicious things.
I can excuse him for all of that though, because what would you do if you were
under that kind of pressure? There is also the factor of not knowing who is
lying in this book. It seems that everyone is lying, and it is hard to discern or
guess who is or who isn’t. It made me curious about everyone, and that was one
of the reasons this was so good. The OH moment in the mystery where all the
clues clicked together bawled me over. I would never have guessed it, but then
again, it all seemed so obvious once I knew. There was also enough action in
here to keep me satisfied too (although nothing too special.)
Max was a good main character. He was someone who had
lived rough on the streets and been homeless as a child, but then was put into
foster home. After being adopted, he does have trust issues (which is
definitely normal after the childhood he has been through). And because of that
I got the impression that this book wasn’t solely about lying and what the
consequences are – but also about trust and how to heal yourself enough to
trust other people.
Parvati and Preston were the other two main characters.
Parvati is rich and confident, and she wants to be a CIA officer. And the likes
of which might have to be good at lying every now and again. I wasn’t sure if I
could trust her as a character or not, and couldn’t make up my mind about her.
I did like her, but as Max’s girlfriend I didn’t want her to be playing him. If
she is… I’ll leave that to you and your reading experience.
I couldn’t stop reading. The ending made me realise the
major theme sin this were love, lies, trust and family. I would highly
recommend it to all YA lovers and those who like a mystery from time to time as
well.
Olivia’s Question: What’s the worst lie you’ve told?

Olivia-Savannah x


27 thoughts on “Liars, Inc. (Review)”

Leave a Reply! Love to discuss with you <3