Forget Me Not [Review & Giveaway!]

Forget Me Not [Review & Giveaway!]
Hello there!
Title: Forget Me Not (Ceruleans #2)
Author: Megan Tayte
Publisher: Heaven Afire
Published Date: May 2016
Rating: 4 Stars   
*Thank you to the author for the review copy*
Synopsis: IN

The Ceruleans: mere mortals
infused with power over life and death. Five books; one question: If the might
of the heavens were in your hands, would you be sinner or saint?

Death is stalking Scarlett Blake. As if the
encroaching darkness in her head wasn’t enough, she’s become disturbingly
accident prone. Falling off a cliff isn’t ideal when all you want is as much
time as possible to live, to love. 

Her fate is horrifying. Unbearable. And
inescapable. No one can save Scarlett from The End that’s looming. Not Jude,
the Cerulean who is intent on Claiming her. Not Luke, the boy who is intent on
loving her. 

The clock is ticking, louder with every
heartbeat. Now Scarlett must decide how best to protect the people she loves.
Will she trust in Jude and the life-after-death he promises? Will she stand
against the Fallen, who have her sister captive? Will she carry the burden of
her death alone – every headache, every hallucination, every wrenching, aching

And when the clock falls silent, when the darkness
eclipses the light, will Scarlett fight for life? Or will she have no choice
but to surrender?

Reviews: After
having read and enjoyed the first book in this series called Death Wish, I was curious to see how the
second book would turn out and what their situation was going to be after all
that happened. And with so much having happened in the first book, I was pretty
stumped as to what would be next. I needn’t have worried, seeing as Tayte
followed through with what I expected and so much more.
In the first book of the novel grief had been a theme
that ran all the way through it, as the main character was missing their
deceased sister. Yet, that theme of grief tinges the novel all the way through
this one too. However, now it is different and morphed into something else as
Scarlett is trying to make every moment of your life counts. She wonders about
life and how to live when you know you don’t have all the time in the world.
Whether it’s best to leave those you love before they get hurt, or if you
should love them to the very end. I guess those are some pretty relevant and
deep questions, and it was interesting seeing her inspect them and try to find
her own answers. But it did affect me as the reader too, and I could feel her
As well as that, we have the same good old characters
returned to us in this novel. The secondary characters in this novel are so
well developed that it makes me think they are just as relevant as the main
characters. Especially as this series is clearly shaping up to be a character
driven one, because although the plot is progressing it takes its time and
doesn’t rely on action and plot twist. This story heavily relies on emotions
and toying with those of the reader.
I love Scarlett’s passion for surfing. It keeps coming
up, alongside her love for the ocean and it just makes her character all the
more real for me.
As I was saying about the plot, it really does move
slowly and build up. The author sets up this unavoidable situation, but I kept
wondering if she truly was going to go through with it in the end or not.
Because if the author did, it stumped me as to what would happen next in the
series. Which is why I desperately need the third book, in order to keep on
reading and figure out what on earth that ending meant for Scarlett and all the
characters involved in this book.
I’ve made this book sound like a really dark and
depressing drag, but it isn’t anything of the sort. Because despite the theme of
grief and love and loss being so present in this novel, there is also the theme
of hope. Of healing. Of magic and the future too. Characters in this novel
change from how they were in the first one. Some become better, some shape up
to be not so good. This is a series I highly recommend, and I should stop
doubting. I’m pretty sure book three is going to be just as epic.
Gif Summary: Did the author did just do what I thought she did? Yup…

Giveaway: Enter to win a paperback copy of the first book in the series, Death Wish! Open internationally, so make sure you enter this one 😀
Links: Goodreads and Amazon!
Olivia’s Question: If you’re brain forgot everything it
had ever seen or learned or experienced but only remembered one thing from your
life, what would it be?
Olivia-Savannah x 

50 thoughts on “Forget Me Not [Review & Giveaway!]”

Leave a Reply! Love to discuss with you <3