The Sky is Everywhere [Book Review]

The Sky is Everywhere [Book Review]
Hello everyone!
Title: The Sky is Everywhere
Author: Jandy Nelson
Publisher: Dial Books
Published Date: 9th March 2010
Rating: 3 Stars

——————————————————————————
Synopsis: Seventeen-year-old Lennie Walker, bookworm and band geek, plays second
clarinet and spends her time tucked safely and happily in the shadow of her
fiery older sister, Bailey. But when Bailey dies abruptly, Lennie is catapulted
to center stage of her own life – and, despite her nonexistent history with
boys, suddenly finds herself struggling to balance two. Toby was Bailey’s
boyfriend; his grief mirrors Lennie’s own. Joe is the new boy in town, a
transplant from Paris whose nearly magical grin is matched only by his musical
talent. For Lennie, they’re the sun and the moon; one boy takes her out of her
sorrow, the other comforts her in it. But just like their celestial
counterparts, they can’t collide without the whole wide world exploding.

This remarkable debut is perfect for fans of
Sarah Dessen, Deb Caletti, and Francesca Lia Block. Just as much a celebration
of love as it is a portrait of loss, Lennie’s struggle to sort her own melody
out of the noise around her is always honest, often hilarious, and ultimately
unforgettable.

——————————————————————————
Review: The Sky is Everywhere was a young adult
novel I had in my TBR pile for a long time, and finally got around to read as a
buddy read with Hannahreadstoomuch on Instagram. Her bookstagram account is
BEAUTIFUL so you should definitely check it out. It was a blast to read with
her.
I absolutely, head over heels, fell in love with the
beautiful writing in this novel. There were some descriptions which were just
so accurate that I couldn’t help but think the author had experienced some of
the losses that were personal to me as well. The descriptions… everything was
just perfection.
Especially when it came to developing the theme of grief,
which is very present in the novel as this family has just lost a daughter.
Nelson writes, “My sister dies over and over again every day.” And when I read
that line, I think it perfectly describes how it feels to be in mourning. At
least, when it came to my cases of personally feeling as if I was torn in two
by the death of someone close to me. I can’t imagine what it would be like for
it to be a sister. And seeing as I have three sisters, I don’t really want to
imagine that.
I really loved the quirky and cool characters. We have
Lennie’s Uncle, who everyone seems to fall in love with. He has a thing for
bugs, weed, and sitting in trees. When he’s not off having another wedding. And
then Gram – how I loved Gram. She had her own unique way of looking at the
world. Through the story, we learn that she isn’t perfect despite how hard she
tries to be so. But no one is perfect, and it’s good to read novels such as
these to remind ourselves that not even adults have to be perfect.
Lennie and Joe both have a passion and an addiction to
music. I loved seeing how much they loved it. When people have a passion for
something it clearly shows in their whole being. I loved that. Lennie is also
someone who writes poetry and leaves it everywhere – on buses, on coffee cups
she puts in the bin, on park benches. We get to see this poetry included in the
novel, and the format in which that is done is pretty cool. It was playful,
beautiful at times, and contributed a lot to the story and her character too.
Lennie also had an addiction to the novel Wuthering Heights. Personally, I deterst
that novel with a burning passion. (Which is another story.) Although the
ending – and how it relates to this novel in a small way – made me incredibly
happy and satisified. Hehe :3 You’ll have to read it to find out exactly what I
mean.
The only reason why this novel got the serious back pedal
from me which knocked it from 4 to a 3 star rating, was the cheating. I really
don’t like reading about cheating in books – maybe because it’s something I so
strongly disagree with it in real life. Maybe I wouldn’t mind if the reason
were particularly justified. But if the only excuse is because ‘you’re
attracted to each other, and you just can’t explain it…’ Well, that just
doesn’t cut it as a good enough reason for me.
I liked Joe a lot… I wasn’t really a fan of Toby. I never
really got a grip on his character because he seemed so aloof. However, Joe was
so alive, and energetic, and I could pretty much feel his presence jumping out
of the pages at me.
Last thing that I want to mention is that I don’t mean to
boast… but look at my edition. THE PAGES ARE EDGED IN BLUE. I don’t say this
often, but I just have to say it now. My edition is WAY cooler than yours 😉
(Unless, y’know, we have the same edition. Then you’re cool too.)

——————————————————————————

Gif Summary:
——————————————————————————

Links: Goodreads and Amazon!
Olivia’s Question: Have you ever left something behind on
the street, or in a hotel room, etc, for someone else to find?

Olivia-Savannah x


22 thoughts on “The Sky is Everywhere [Book Review]”

Leave a Reply! Love to discuss with you <3